The Breadline Challenge: day 1

So, how was my first day eating on a budget of £2.10? Well, not too bad, but I think a lot of that is to do with the fact that my Monday is always busy and so the time goes fast. And often on a Monday when I’m volunteering at the food bank, I’m so busy I forget to eat lunch anyway. Saying that, today I’ve spent pretty much the entire day thinking about food and what/when my next meal is going to be!

This is what I ate today:

Breakfast: porridge (made with a third milk, two thirds water) & a cup of tea

Lunch: egg & mushroom pitta (two eggs, half a mushroom, one pitta bread)

Dinner: vegetable curry & rice (made with half a pepper, some frozen sweetcorn, 2tbs chick peas, 2 cauliflower florets, half a tin of tomatoes and a rather fiery home grown chilli I was lucky enough to get given yesterday)

Snacks: half an apple with 3tbs natural yogurt, 2 slices baguette

I originally had mozzarella on my shopping list, not yogurt, but decided the latter would be more useful (I use it instead of mayonnaise in egg/tuna sandwiches, potato salad, etc), and would go much further than a teeny ball of cheese. Good decision – this evening when I got home from work, adding yogurt definitely made half a chopped up apple seem more substantial.

Highlight of the day was finding a white baguette in Asda reduced to 5p, and knowing I could still buy it as I had 10p of by budget left to spend… result!

Leave a comment

