Seven food resolutions for 2015

I love these food related New Year’s resolutions from the Zero-Waste Chef, especially number 2 and 5. If I was going to make a food resolution for the coming year, it would be to continue trying out new recipes and experimenting with ways of reducing food waste (something I started at the end of 2014).

The Zero-Waste Chef

Did you make new year’s resolutions? What do they entail? Weight loss? Better money management? Improved health? A reduced carbon footprint? The following 7 food resolutions have you covered.

1. Eat real food you cook yourself and avoid fad diets. If you cook everything from scratch, you can pretty much eat whatever you like (unless you make only cookie dough ice cream and homemade plum wine). With all the ferments I eat, my diet may seem like a fad to some. Sixty or 70 years ago however, when organic food was simply called food, my diet would have been considered normal. I eat pretty traditional fare, including sourdough bread, fermented vegetables, grass-fed beef, free-range chicken, pastured butter, raw milk (but not exclusively raw) and so on.

2. Cut the processed food. When I went (nearly) plastic-free in 2011, I quickly realized that I had stopped eating processed food. By cutting the plastic, I inadvertently…

View original post 588 more words

Leave a comment

