I am not a professional chef and that is the point

This post from the Zero-Waste Chef really resonated with me, as I’m a big believer in the need to get people back into their kitchens and cooking from scratch. It’s healthier, it’s cheaper and it actually doesn’t need a lot of time or much effort. As I wrote in a previous post, I enjoy watching the likes of Masterchef as much as the next person, but this isn’t what a nation that’s spending ever decreasing amounts of time preparing their own food should be aspiring to.

The Zero-Waste Chef

Fermentationwrksp-20-scaledI teach in-person workshops and online webinars, mostly on fermentation, and I need to create some new marketing materials to get the word out. How do you like this tagline?

I have no formal training in food preparation™

That might not result in droves of students beating a path to my door, but it is my point. Anyone can learn to cook.

The majority of us now leave our food preparation to someone else. We outsource our cooking to corporations when we eat at chain restaurants,buy frozen entrée at the supermarkt or sign our kids up for unhealthy school lunches. I realize that some people have no choice but to eat food-like products rather than real food. In a short blog post, I can’t cover the complicated issue of our inability to feed ourselves. For more on how we arrived at this bizarre point in human history, I suggest reading The Omnivore’s…

View original post 451 more words

Leave a comment

